• Becoming a member is completely free!

• Join the community and start contributing to a large source of sea angling information.
    • Become an active member and you can enter member exclusive competitions.

REGISTER FOR FREE HERE

Planning a trip to Chesil for my son and I

adyzaky

Reaction score
Favourite Fishing
Shore
Hello lads, hope you're all well and safe!

I'm planning on a trip to Chesil with my little boy for some Mackerel fishing, I've been angling for 12 months now and have spent most my trips going to Dungeness and catching nothing but Whiting and Dogs. Have never caught a Macky....ever (Embarrassing, I know).

Though I'd try somewhere else and have been reading a few threads here about Chesil and have watched a few YouTube videos, the trek from West London is around 2.5 hours drive so want to do as much research as I can to give my self the best chance at catching some Mackys.

I have a few questions which I hope some members can be kind enough to answer.

1. I hear the best time to go is when the tide is coming in just before dusk, does that sound about right?
2. Dragons Teeth or West Bexley? (I hear there's a lesser known, easier trek to Dragons Teeth from the carpark?)
3. Thinking of using feathers and Toby's, will also take some lugs and lures for a try at Bass, these sound ok?

Would really appreciate any pointers, want to make a nice day of it with my boy and look a little competent lol.

If you have never fished there, just keep an eye out on the swell.
Rogue waves sometimes come in and wash well up the beach.

You didn't say how old your boy is, Chesil is a boring place for a child, unless of course he likes pebbles as far as the eye can see.

Many people have a dream of popping down to Chesil and catching a bucketful of mackerel only to find a beach with 'anglers' nearly shoulder to shoulder and hurling feathers generally, but not always, seaward. or, perhaps worse finding a clear space and feathering all day for nothing.