• Becoming a member is completely free!

• Join the community and start contributing to a large source of sea angling information.
    • Become an active member and you can enter member exclusive competitions.

REGISTER FOR FREE HERE

Complete noob

MikeB_1985

Reaction score
Favourite Fishing
Lure
Hello, can someone tell me what type of spinning rod I should be getting to start me off fishing from the shore, estuary mouth. I live in Exeter, Devon and I have lots of places to fish but I'm struggling to go firm on a type of rod. Would a bass rod do me or should I get a smaller spinning rod and go from there. Also have a canal and river that does have pike and would also like to try my hand at that. If you were going to get a rod or two to start you off with a view to tackling the above scenarios, what would you opt for? Any advice welcome. Thanks in advance. Mike

The best advice I can give is ask in your local tackle shop I use the spinning kit (2 rods & 2 reels) i got from Glasgow angling you might still be able to get it it ,for longer distance spinning I use a three piece carp rod,for beach fishing I use a normal beach caster,I do use bass rods when the weather & tide are right.hope this helped

Hello, can someone tell me what type of spinning rod I should be getting to start me off fishing from the shore, estuary mouth. I live in Exeter, Devon and I have lots of places to fish but I'm struggling to go firm on a type of rod. Would a bass rod do me or should I get a smaller spinning rod and go from there. Also have a canal and river that does have pike and would also like to try my hand at that. If you were going to get a rod or two to start you off with a view to tackling the above scenarios, what would you opt for? Any advice welcome. Thanks in advance. Mike
I would nip in to Exeter Angling, they seem to stock a few spinning rods and be able to advise you accordingly.