• Becoming a member is completely free!

• Join the community and start contributing to a large source of sea angling information.
    • Become an active member and you can enter member exclusive competitions.

REGISTER FOR FREE HERE

South Coast First Time Fishing Chesil - 9/9 and a 5lb 7oz cod

Merlin 335

Reaction score
I had been planing for a couple of months for a 3 day fishing trip down south to meet up with a friend who has been posted to Plymouth from Faslane with the Navy. We had planned to fish Wednesday afternoon/evening in Plymouth targeting conger and then have a long session at Chesil on Thursday and Friday before I had to set off back home early Saturday morning. Unfortunately due to the strong winds on The Thursday, we only made it Chesil on the Friday.

We had been umming and erring on the drive over from Plymouth where we would fish on Chesil and it came down to deciding between Abbotsbury and Ferrybridge - but the decision was made for us, as after a 45 minute delay to get passed a hedge being cut!! we decide just to fish Abbotsbury. After collecting some bait from the tackle shop at Abbotsbury we drove straight down to the beach car park.

We thought that we would walk towards the dragon teeth to fish, but the first time walking on the shingle soon put paid to that! as being unfit middle aged men we got about half way there and decided enough was enough and would fish in the first available spot!

I set up two rods, one with a 3 hook clip down with 1/0 hooks with a mixture of rag/blow lug and frozen black and the other with a pulley dropper 4/0 pennel baited with a 4 worm frozen black lug sausage. My mate just fished the one rod with a 2 hook flapper with worm baitts, it was about 2pm when all rods were in the water.