• Becoming a member is completely free!

• Join the community and start contributing to a large source of sea angling information.
    • Become an active member and you can enter member exclusive competitions.

REGISTER FOR FREE HERE

Advice Gibberish and Tag ends!

Kenny84

Reaction score
Favourite Fishing
Shore
Ok it’s another leader knot question! Brace your selves!

I’m relatively new to fishing and have tried a few different knots. I use both mono main and shock leader (18lb/70lb) on a multiplier.

I been using an improved Albright knot recently and am confident with tying it well and can get it nice and small so I’d doesn’t hit the rings during a cast.

Now I’ve only had it happen maybe 2 times his year but it’s bugging me because I’m not sure if it’s my casting or the knot.

It’s hard to describe it but after casting I basically have what looks like 3 lines coming out of the tip eye from a couple of rings down….. if that makes sense?

My only theory is that maybe the tag ends on my leader knot is somehow scooping up some loose line during the cast and dragging it with it from further down the spool…..? ok reading that back to myself sounds like complete gibberish but maybe if you’ve had it happen too you’ll know what I’m on about fingers crossed ?

My tag ends are around 3-5mm as I’m unsure how the knot would react if I cut them flush?

Any thoughts/opinions or suggestions appreciated

When I used to use mono mainline and leader on fixed spools, I tied them together with an Albright knot and always cut the rag ends flush, never had one come undone on me, I would always give it a damn good pull before I'd cut the tag ends though to make sure it's bedded down really well.

I’m relatively new to fishing and have tried a few different knots. I use both mono main and shock leader (18lb/70lb) on a multiplier.

I been using an improved Albright knot recently and am confident with tying it well and can get it nice and small so I’d doesn’t hit the rings during a cast.