• Becoming a member is completely free!

• Join the community and start contributing to a large source of sea angling information.
    • Become an active member and you can enter member exclusive competitions.

REGISTER FOR FREE HERE

Tips or help for landing a big fish-

Gritty_Angler

Reaction score
Favourite Fishing
Shore
This is my first post:

Hi guys, Im new to sea fishing and love fishing low tides and marching back up the beach as the tide rushes in.

Recently I had a few issues, Inwas fishing at mumbles and I lost the first 3 fish From my first 3 casts. It was an amazing start to the session. They were all big fish. The first fish took the bait within a minute after casting.

The problem was i couldnt budge it- i reeled as much as i could then held, rod bent and this big fish was dug right in, i coild feel it tugging down and down and pulling. At this point all i could do was hold it there, or pull very hard backwards.

I was a bit worried id get a hook pull if i pled at it anymore- so i walked back and bit the bullet - and slack :( when i reeled in the snood at snapped about half inch away from the knot. The next 2 takes, were a similar situation, locked up after reeling as much as i could they both hook pulled. I was happy and gutted st same time.

What should I have done to get thise on the beach?

Tackle/tactics:
Abu beachcaster
Budget reel
No shockleader :(
2 hook flapper rig
Mackerel on one
Squid on other

All three fish took the mackrell.
I caught a smoothhound a while back and this felt similar as it had a fight and pulled to the side as it appeared to head for a buoy. But this was for certain alot bigger than a 5lb smoothie.

Thank you guys sorry I cant explain it better. If ive left out info that wld help i am happy to explain more.
Cheer J - newbie angler

Welcome J, I had a similar problem only trouble is mine was weed.

I'm guessing you were casting near snags, and the fish, guessing eels were running straight into them!